top of page

Conquer Your Mind


According to Buddhist scripture, "Our lives are the creation of our minds." We hold within us, the power to transform. We hold within us, the power to live our lives as our authentic selves.

 

The stories that we tell ourselves matter. What story are you telling?


There was a time when most of the stories I told myself were filled with hurdles. Yes, even as a Life Coach, I still fight with my inner critic on occasion. The difference I face is that I am educated and equipped with the tools to overcome most of my hurdles, when I struggle, I consult my peers.


I have learned that it is not enough to wake up and drink a glass of green juice, or to religiously hit the yoga mat at the beginning and end of the day. It is not about the newest 30, 60, or 90 day trend. The practice of training and focusing the mind is a constant and consistent practice. We live in a society where obstacles can appear at any time, and how we respond to those obstacles has a tremendous impact on how we view ourselves. When we are suffering, we not only tether ourselves to that negative energy, but we also project that energy on those around us. We can also be victim to this energy when we are around others who are suffering.

One of my favorite visualizations is of critics (whether inner critic or critics in our lives) and they are armed with bow and arrows. They believe that they are pulling you back, but somehow they forget that they are launching your forward toward your greatness. We have to equip ourselves with the tools necessary to fight back when our inner critic pops up on our shoulder with insults, criticisms, and injury.


In order to train and focus my mind so that I am able to function at my highest, I had to wake up at rock bottom (again), get up, and I had to ask the hard question, "What Defines Me?" I held a magnifying glass to the arrows and really focused on the way that I look at myself. It was the moment that would define my course. I chose to rise. I made a conscious decision to not be defined by grief, anxiety, depression, or heartbreak.


My first step was to visualize my growth. I had to allow myself to burn to ashes like a phoenix so that I could see myself soaring. The version of me that my inner critic tortures is limited, unloved, bound and tethered. That vision of myself had to die so that I could picture myself soaring our of the ashes of these last two years.


I also set boundaries that I am unwilling to cross while I strive to define myself. While setting boundaries, I had to keep myself in check. I have erected so many walls to protect wounds from past friendships and relationships. My boundaries are in place to prevent harm to both myself and others. I was very careful to create mindful boundaries instead of boundaries that block me from having breakthrough experiences.


My only goal is to discover my purpose and my truth. I look forward to the day when my inner critic whispers my positive affirmations; Trust, Feel, Be With, Follow, Sense, Attend, Listen, Allow, Breathe, Now... Throughout the last six months, I have discovered that I do not need to shrink myself in order to make those around me more comfortable. It is okay to be messy! It is okay to be complex! It is absolutely okay to be ambitious!


I have a quote in the front of a notebook that my nieces gave me that reads, "Our achievements are shaped by the terrain of our lives and the strength of the foundations we set. In building the life we have imagined, we must be true to our beliefs, dare to be ethical, and strive to be honorable. For integrity is the highest ground to which we can inspire."


These stories that we tell ourselves matter. What story are you telling?

bottom of page